Skip to main content

Human Resources Staff

The Human Resources staff provides service to Georgia Southern’s employees in Statesboro, the Armstrong Campus, and the Liberty Campus. By clicking on the arrows below, you can find the names and contact information of the HR Team.

Human Resources Administration

The Human Resources Administration unit provides oversight for the Human Resources Department. Functions concerning employee relations, employee grievances, progressive disciplinary procedures and human resources policy questions can be directed to the Associate Vice President and Executive Director.

 

Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Rebecca Carroll Associate Vice President for Human Resources 478-7765 Rosenwald 1202 rcarroll@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Provides leadership, direction and administration of the HR department including: strategic planning, Benefits, Employee Relations, policies and procedures, Human Resources Information System, Organization, Development & Learning, Employment Services, Compensation, Records & Compliance, Federal and State rules and regulations, liaison with community business & industry leaders; internal consultant to administrators; policy and procedure development and interpretation.

 

 

Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Gloria Lovette Sr Administrative Assistant 478-7765 Rosenwald 1205B glovette@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Serves as assistant to the Associate Vice President of Human Resources; maintains calendar and schedules meetings; department budget; departmental PA’s; purchases supplies; asset inventory; maintenance contracts; P-card transactions; Annual & Provisional Performance Evaluations; service/work orders and print shop requests; and oversees Federal Work Study students.

 

 


Benefits & Wellness

Benefits & Wellness Administration is responsible for administering the various benefit programs available to employees, both active and retired.

 

Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Vicki Hodges Director of Benefits & Wellness 478-0286 Rosenwald 1207 vhodges@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Manages Benefits Programs; TRS; ORP, Roth 403b, 457, 403b, LTD and STD, HSA, Family Medical Leave, Tuition Assistance Program

 

 

Samantha Rossi Human Resources Manager 478-1538 Rosenwald 1204 smelton@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Coordinates Open Enrollment and Benefits Fair, sick leave donation; Family Medical Leave, TRS, and other benefits information.

 

 

Nicole Alvarado Human Resources Coordinator (912) 963-2605 Herty AMDC-Savannah nalvarado@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities: Performs HR duties at Herty Advanced Materials assists Georgia Southern employees with the Tuition Assistance Program (TAP).

 

 

Brynn Rawlins Human Resources Specialist 478-0854 Rosenwald 1205 brawlins@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Assists and greets visitors to the Benefits area; provides general benefits information and open enrollment information.

 

 


Compensation Administration
Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Nancy Whitfield Director of Classification & Compensation 478-0628 Rosenwald 1206 nwhitfie@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Manages and coordinates all non-faculty employee compensation functions; including classifications, reclassifications, & equity adjustments; ensures all compensation and classification systems and programs support the University and remain compliant with Department of Labor guidelines including FLSA exempt/nonexempt status; recommends and promotes institutional compensation philosophies, salary schedules, strategies and policies; oversees the design and implementation of projects, initiatives and services responsive to specific institutional needs.

 

 

Wyketa Jackson Compensation Analyst 478-8046 Rosenwald 1209 wjackson@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Assisting the Director of Comp. and Class. in collecting and analyzing data relevant to both campus and individual positions

.


Employee Relations

Employee Relations is concerned with preventing and resolving employee issues that may affect work situations.

Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Denise Gebara Director of Employee Relations  478-1687 1104B  dgebara@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
The Director of Employee Relations provides guidance on progressive discipline, information on alternative dispute resolution, mediation, and grievance procedures, maintains positive working environments, resolves employee issues.


Talent Acquisition

Talent Acquisition is responsible for administering the recruitment, interview and selection process and procedures for individuals seeking benefited, temporary, or student employment opportunities at Georgia Southern University.

Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Demetrius Bynes Director of Talent Acquisition 478-5713 Rosenwald 1307A dbynes@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Oversees hiring of benefitted staff, casual labor (temporary) and student employees; provides guidance to hiring managers on employment-related concerns; administers background investigation process and unemployment concerns.

 

 

Jamie Thomas Human Resources Manager  478-0520 Rosenwald 1304  jethomas@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Reviews non-exempt search files, provides recruitment plans for staff positions, provides ACA Compliance assistance with temporary employees, oversees the Eagle Temps Program

 

 

Kevin Adams Human Resources Coordinator  478-7727  Rosenwald 1300   kevinadams@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Posts staff positions in various recruitment outlets, provides user support for the PeopleAdmin System, conducts PeopleAdmin training.

 

 

Yolanda Hernandez Human Resources Coordinator  478-7159  Rosenwald 1205C  yhernandez@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Posts student positions, processes student hiring proposals, visits internal departments and external businesses to explain the mission and vision of the Student Employment Center, provides user support for the PeopleAdmin system, conducts PeopleAdmin Training, coordinates student-center events.

 

 

Kyla Dickson Human Resources Coordinator  478-7158 Rosenwald 1205A  kdickson@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Posts student positions, processes student hiring proposals, visits internal departments and external businesses to explain the mission and vision of the Student Employment Center, provides user support for the PeopleAdmin system, conducts PeopleAdmin Training, coordinates student-center events.

 

 

Courtney Jenkins Human Resources Associate 478-5468 Rosenwald 1553 cjenkins@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Assists with background investigation process and other duties outlined by the Director of Employment Services.

 

 

 Open Position Human Resources Assistant 478-5468 Rosenwald 1100

 

Responsibilities:
Greets and assists all visitors; provides assistance to applicants; processes offer letters and background investigations


Organization Development & Learning (ODL)

Organization Development and Learning is responsible for assessing a diversity of training and developmental needs and designing delivery systems and programs that focus upon achieving those needs throughout the University community.

Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Greg Wurth Director of Organizational Development & Learning  478-7120 Rosenwald 1100A  gwurth@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Customizes and facilitates training sessions; serves as the eLearning system administrator; develops eLearning courses; administers annual compliance training; provides advice and assistance with the performance evaluation process and PeopleAdmin performance management system; maintains and updates the Human Resources website; maintains ODL and University Training website and database.

 


Records and Compliance

Records and Compliance administers OneUSG data input concerning appointments and terminations; manages the maintenance of the employee human resources files; leads new employee onboarding; contact point for tax treaties; W-4 changes in withholding or addresses; non-resident alien appointment processing; and changes in name or social security number.

 

Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Karen Iler Director of Processing & Records 478-5529 Rosenwald 1305 kiler@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Administers and supervises the Records area; oversees the entry and maintenance of data into Management System; processes all Personnel Action (PA) forms and Hiring Proposals for payroll processing; maintains and trains employees on Self-Service; coordinates Non-Resident Alien Compliance; administers E-Verify process; provides employment verifications and On-boarding for all new employees; coordinates exit process; assists employees w/tax questions and researches document inquiry.

 

 

Rosalind Calles Human Resources Manager 478-5628 Rosenwald 1310 rcalles@georgiasouthern.edu

Responsibilities:

Provides Employment Verifications; conducts On-boarding for all new employees; performs exit interviews; processes and keys PA forms and Hiring Proposals for payroll processing; assists employees w/tax questions and researches document inquiry.
Carol Lightle Human Resources Manager  478-6032  Rosenwald 1303  clightle@georgiasouthern.edu

Responsibilities:

Provides Employment Verifications; conducts On-boarding for all new employees; performs exit interviews; processes and keys PA forms and Hiring Proposals for payroll processing; assists employees w/tax questions and researches document inquiry.
Karisha Gibbons Human Resources Associate 478-5374 Rosenwald 1306 kgibbons@georgiasouthern.edu

Responsibilities:

Provides Employment Verifications; conducts On-boarding for all new employees; performs exit interviews; processes and keys PA forms and Hiring Proposals for payroll processing; assists employees w/tax questions and researches document inquiry.
Renesha Lovette Human Resources Associate 478-0054 Rosenwald 1302 rlovette@georgiasouthern.edu

Responsibilities:

Provides Employment Verifications; conducts On-boarding for all new employees; performs exit interviews; processes and keys PA forms and Hiring Proposals for payroll processing; assists employees w/tax questions and researches document inquiry.
Kim Wiggins Human Resources Associate 478-5940 Rosenwald 1308 kwiggins@georgiasouthern.edu

Responsibilities:

Provides Employment Verifications; conducts On-boarding for all new employees; performs exit interviews; processes and keys PA forms and Hiring Proposals for payroll processing; assists employees w/tax questions and researches document inquiry.
Tangie Johnson Human Resources Associate 478-7881 Rosenwald 1110 treece@georgiasouthern.edu

Responsibilities:

Files and scans Human Resources personnel data; archives records; conducts On-boarding for student and temporary employees: processes separation paperwork.

Armstrong Campus Human Resources
Name Title Phone(912) Office Email
Willette Stevens Director of HR Operations 912-344-3217  169 Burnett Hall wstevens@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Directs and coordinates all Human Resources activity on the Armstrong Campus of Georgia Southern University.

 

 

Jessica Rea Human Resources Specialist 912-344-2825 166 Burnett Hall jrea@gerogiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Provides Employment Verifications; conducts On-boarding for all new employees; performs exit interviews; processes and keys PA forms and Hiring Proposals for payroll processing; assists employees w/tax questions and researches document inquiry.

 

 

Becky Smith Special Projects Assistant 912-344-2587 160 Burnett Hall rmsmith@gerogiasouthern.edu

 

Responsibilities:
Provides assistance with special projects within the Georgia Southern Human Resources Department.


Last updated: 4/19/2018