Skip to main content

Holiday Calendar

Calendar Year 2023 Schedule

According to the Board of Regents policy, each institution within the University System of Georgia is allowed thirteen (13) paid holidays each calendar year for employees at the institution. After consulting the academic calendar, and President’s Cabinet, we have adopted the following Calendar Year 2023 Official Holiday Schedule for Georgia Southern University.

New Year’s DayJanuary 2nd (Monday)
MLK DayJanuary 16th (Monday)
Memorial DayMay 29th (Monday)
JuneteenthJune 19th (Monday)
Independence DayJuly 4th (Tuesday)
Labor DaySeptember 4th (Monday)
Thanksgiving HolidaysNovember 23rd & 24th (Thursday and Friday)
Winter BreakDecember 25th-29th (Monday through Friday)

All regular benefited employees working full-time or part-time 20 hours or more per week will be paid for the holidays. Non-exempt employees scheduled to work on a holiday will be given 8 hours of holiday pay plus pay for the actual hours worked on that holiday.

Last updated: 5/24/2023